Writing Prompts

What self-respecting writer doesn’t occasionally engage in random Writing Prompts? Well, me apparently; maybe a few others too – if I’m being honest.

The truth is, as writers, we don’t always write quite as much as we should. Like any skill, it takes practice and regular use to maintain your talent. Lucky for me, writing prompts and challenges are a common occurrence in my papers at Uni, so I thought I’d share some of them – as well as some others – here with you all.

Many of these take maybe 5 minutes tops to complete. That’s all! Which completely destroys that concept of “I don’t have time to write today”. If you aren’t going to work on your WIP then you’d better write something else! And if you aren’t posting to your blog, then it might as well be a challenge / prompt.

These may take some time to build up and collect, but eventually this category should hold plenty of activities to try your hand at.

Our first Writing Challenge can be found here: The Free-Style Writing Challenge; it will take 5 or 10 minutes of your time.

I’d love to see your results! If you post them to your blog, send me a link in the comments!

Leave a Reply

